Welcome Guest. ( logon | register )   
FAQ Member List Albums Today's Posts Search

PointedThree :  Vans, Trucks, SUVs and Other Forums : G-Class : Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

Page 1 of 2 12
Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster
Topic Tools Message Format
Author
Posted 8/24/2016 2:36 PM
H1LM002G55
Expert




Date registered: Mar 2010
Location: S Florida / Geneva / Jeddah
Vehicle(s): 500 GE, G55, G63, LM002, H1
Posts: 1773
1000
Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

What instrument cluster and speedometer did Europa use in pre-2001 G-Class models that were made U.S. Compliant by their registered importer?
#233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/24/2016 3:08 PM
DesertStar
Expert




Date registered: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Vehicle(s): 85-280GE/95-G320/08-G500
Posts: 2146
2000
RE: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

Here is my 1995 G320...no provision for oil level light. 

Edited by DesertStar 8/24/2016 3:10 PM




(IMG_1565 [1024x768].JPG)



(w463speedo1995.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments IMG_1565 [1024x768].JPG (152KB - 0 downloads)
Attachments w463speedo1995.JPG (83KB - 0 downloads)
#233578 - in reply to #233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/24/2016 3:19 PM
DUTCH
Administrator Doppelgänger




Date registered: Apr 2006
Location: US, GA, Atlanta
Vehicle(s): 2000 G500 NMLE,2015 Audi Q7 3.0 TDI,2018 Sprinter
Posts: 9819
5000
RE: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

The cluster changed in the 1999 to 2000 model year. It happened at the same time that the control buttons showed up in the steering wheel. VIN ending in 116957 and newer is P/N: A.463.540.35.47. Prior to that VIN the P/N is A.463.540.26.47. Both of these P/N's are in miles. Km clusters had different P/N's.
#233580 - in reply to #233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/24/2016 4:14 PM
techmogogy
Member


Date registered: Feb 2015
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Vehicle(s): 72 Haflinger, 75 710M Pinzgauer, 96 350GDT
Posts: 25
25
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

What is the small display on the top of the speedometer for?
#233583 - in reply to #233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/24/2016 4:29 PM
DesertStar
Expert




Date registered: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Vehicle(s): 85-280GE/95-G320/08-G500
Posts: 2146
2000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

techmogogy - 8/24/2016 1:14 PM What is the small display on the top of the speedometer for?

 see attached





(g320gage.JPG)



(g320gage2.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments g320gage.JPG (83KB - 0 downloads)
Attachments g320gage2.JPG (75KB - 0 downloads)
#233584 - in reply to #233583
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/24/2016 6:40 PM
ILIAN
Veteran


Date registered: Sep 2014
Location: Boston MA
Vehicle(s): 2000 G500 1999 CL500
Posts: 181
100
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

That warning triangle probably means ABS is disabled. On newer G's it's shown in the instrument cluster display.
#233590 - in reply to #233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/24/2016 8:00 PM
DUTCH
Administrator Doppelgänger




Date registered: Apr 2006
Location: US, GA, Atlanta
Vehicle(s): 2000 G500 NMLE,2015 Audi Q7 3.0 TDI,2018 Sprinter
Posts: 9819
5000
RE: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

The attached diagram shows the 2000 G500 cluster from VIN ending in 116957 and onward.

The second diagram shows the warnings displayed when the Diff Lock(s) is/are engaged. A push of the steering button returns the cluster to showing what it was before the diff lock warning, but the warning stays in the background.



(2000Cluster.jpg)



(2000Cluster2.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments 2000Cluster.jpg (183KB - 0 downloads)
Attachments 2000Cluster2.jpg (105KB - 0 downloads)
#233591 - in reply to #233580
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/25/2016 3:33 AM
otiswesty
Expert




Date registered: Jun 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle(s): G500
Posts: 2717
2000
RE: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

Here is a 1999 G500 speedometer. Not mine but identical.



(EuropaSpeedo.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments EuropaSpeedo.jpg (133KB - 0 downloads)
#233595 - in reply to #233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/25/2016 3:39 AM
otiswesty
Expert




Date registered: Jun 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle(s): G500
Posts: 2717
2000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

The RI that imported my 1995 G320 put a W124 speedo in. It did not work, I pulled it and replaced it with the original last week and will eventually order the one Desertstar posted as it is the MPH version of the same. Last 4 digits of the PN on the KPH version is 04 06.
#233596 - in reply to #233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/25/2016 10:03 AM
Bobmog
Member




Date registered: Oct 2006
Location: northern Colorado/Southern Wyoming
Vehicle(s): 280GE&G320
Posts: 36
25
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

Otiswesty, do you know if there is a way to change the outside temp from Celsius to Fahrenheit? I have a Europa 1997 G320 but have never figured out how to change the thermometer and have never found anything in the manuals or online. Thanks Bob
#233600 - in reply to #233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/25/2016 10:17 AM
AlanMcR
Expert




Date registered: Apr 2006
Location: US, CA, Los Altos
Vehicle(s): G300DT E300DT 230SL
Posts: 3472
2000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

The C to F change is done with the STAR diagnostic system.  The dealer can do it.  They just need to be persuaded to try.  When I first got my 1996 (in 2003) G's were super rare here.  The shop guys wanted to see the G and I got the work done for free.  That glow wore off fast.
#233601 - in reply to #233600
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/25/2016 10:29 AM
DUTCH
Administrator Doppelgänger




Date registered: Apr 2006
Location: US, GA, Atlanta
Vehicle(s): 2000 G500 NMLE,2015 Audi Q7 3.0 TDI,2018 Sprinter
Posts: 9819
5000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

AlanMcR - 8/25/2016 10:17 AM

The C to F change is done with the STAR diagnostic system.  The dealer can do it. 


The updated cluster in my 2000 can be changed for a variety of setting within the cluster without anything external. #5 is Temperature.



(Settings.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Settings.jpg (209KB - 0 downloads)
#233602 - in reply to #233601
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/25/2016 2:45 PM
techmogogy
Member


Date registered: Feb 2015
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Vehicle(s): 72 Haflinger, 75 710M Pinzgauer, 96 350GDT
Posts: 25
25
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

Bobmog - 8/25/2016 10:03 AM

Otiswesty, do you know if there is a way to change the outside temp from Celsius to Fahrenheit? I have a Europa 1997 G320 but have never figured out how to change the thermometer and have never found anything in the manuals or online. Thanks Bob

 That or buy a used one already in F
http://www.ebay.com/itm/MERCEDES-OUTSIDE-TEMPERATURE-GAGE-W124-260E-300E-300D-300CE-300TE-E320-400E-500E-/112104649606?hash=item1a19f53386:g:FjEAAOSwMtxXqrgd&vxp=mtr  


I saw a post (can't find it now) but the circuit board on some have a F or C on them
Will keep looking for the reference post

 

 

#233604 - in reply to #233600
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/25/2016 3:01 PM
AlanMcR
Expert




Date registered: Apr 2006
Location: US, CA, Los Altos
Vehicle(s): G300DT E300DT 230SL
Posts: 3472
2000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

techmogogy - 8/25/2016 11:45 AM

Bobmog - 8/25/2016 10:03 AM

Otiswesty, do you know if there is a way to change the outside temp from Celsius to Fahrenheit? I have a Europa 1997 G320 but have never figured out how to change the thermometer and have never found anything in the manuals or online. Thanks Bob

 That or buy a used one already in F
http://www.ebay.com/itm/MERCEDES-OUTSIDE-TEMPERATURE-GAGE-W124-260E-300E-300D-300CE-300TE-E320-400E-500E-/112104649606?hash=item1a19f53386:g:FjEAAOSwMtxXqrgd&vxp=mtr  


I saw a post (can't find it now) but the circuit board on some have a F or C on them
Will keep looking for the reference post

We are talking about three completely different clusters now.

 - W124 cluster look alike ==> 1990-1995 diesel Gs, 1990-1996 gas Gs

 - early W210 cluster look alike ==> 1996-1999 diesel Gs, 1997-1999 gas Gs

 - late W210 cluster look alike ==> 2000-2001 Gs, all pre-MBUSA

The late W210 can be changed in the menu, per Dutch's instructions.  The early W210 style needs to be changed using the STAR system.  The W124 style may be hacked to suit taste, not sure. 

In any case, I don't think you can yank a cluster out of a W210 and and plug it into the G.  There are subtle differences.  The cluster in my 1996 G300 looks very similar to our 1998 E300, but the max speed is different, and some of the indicator lenses are different.  It also has a W463 part number that is different than the W210 number in the E300.  I have never dared to swap clusters to see what happens.  That little experiment could wreak havoc on the numerous computers attached to the system.

 

#233606 - in reply to #233604
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/25/2016 4:12 PM
DUTCH
Administrator Doppelgänger




Date registered: Apr 2006
Location: US, GA, Atlanta
Vehicle(s): 2000 G500 NMLE,2015 Audi Q7 3.0 TDI,2018 Sprinter
Posts: 9819
5000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

AlanMcR - 8/25/2016 3:01 PM
I have never dared to swap clusters to see what happens.  That little experiment could wreak havoc on the numerous computers attached to the system.

 



+1 !!
#233611 - in reply to #233606
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/25/2016 6:15 PM
otiswesty
Expert




Date registered: Jun 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle(s): G500
Posts: 2717
2000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

Well, plugging a W124 speedo/odo cluster into my 1995 did not mess anything up aside from the fact that it did not work.
I was planning to swap in a US spec W124 temp display and see if that reads in fahrenheit.

I have also been trying to figure out modifying the stalk of my cruise control to English language without having to replace the entire unit. But that is a different story.
#233612 - in reply to #233595
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 8/26/2016 8:06 AM
techmogogy
Member


Date registered: Feb 2015
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Vehicle(s): 72 Haflinger, 75 710M Pinzgauer, 96 350GDT
Posts: 25
25
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

Just swap the Fahrenheit 124 temp display vs the whole cluster - why not just do that?
#233617 - in reply to #233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 9/27/2019 12:49 PM
otiswesty
Expert




Date registered: Jun 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle(s): G500
Posts: 2717
2000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

I ended up putting the Fahrenheit temp display from a w124 into the 1995 G320. Also went with a new Speedo from MB to get a nice correct MPH speedometer, set for actual mileage. I sold the G320 last year and am working on a 1997 G300td now.


On the 1997 G300td, I just swapped the original KPH cluster for a E300 cluster with the same 220KPH/140MPH speed range. Everything works normally. The speedo, tach, gas guage...

However, after the car is started, the gauge alert "Cluster Defective" comes up, then I get an oil level alert. Everything works on the gauge, oil level is fine. I am wondering if it can be electronically adapted in some way. The alerts are easily cleared with the R button and go away until it is shut off.
#241024 - in reply to #233575
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 9/27/2019 8:28 PM
AlanMcR
Expert




Date registered: Apr 2006
Location: US, CA, Los Altos
Vehicle(s): G300DT E300DT 230SL
Posts: 3472
2000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

The E300D oil sensor is connected to the ECU (pin 7, unused on your diffferent ECU).  So i presume the cluster is asking the ECU for oil status and not getting a response.  The oil function could probably be coded out of the cluster with the STAR system.  I know that mine presents several oil and maintenance interval options.
#241025 - in reply to #241024
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Author
Posted 9/28/2019 3:47 PM
otiswesty
Expert




Date registered: Jun 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle(s): G500
Posts: 2717
2000
Re: Pre-2001 Europa G instrument cluster

The upside is that the ext temp display is already in deg F and the odo in miles (although incorrect). The original display would need the face display changed, temp and odo reprogrammed.
It looks like the MPH version of the 300GDT cluster may still be available as well for under $300 from the dealer.

Like the dilemma in the G320. How much effort to put into some old parts like this to make it "better".
#241035 - in reply to #241024
Top of the page Bottom of the page
« View previous thread :: View next thread »
Page 1 of 2 12
Forum Jump :
All times are EST.  The time is now 5:23:00 PM.

Execution: 0.308 seconds, 110 cached, 14 executed.